Can I change my mobile plan?
If you signed up after 25 June 2019:
You can change your shared data once a month. If you choose to increase your data, you’ll get the larger inclusions straight away and will pay a higher amount from the next payment date. If you choose to downgrade your data, you’ll get the smaller allowance from the next payment date.
You can cancel your plan at any time without a refund of charges already paid.
You can upgrade or downgrade your plan once a month in the Telstra 24x7 App.
If you signed up before 25 June 2019:
Yes - you can change your plan, however you may incur an Early Termination Charge, and depending on the plan you change to you may also need to pay any remaining device or accessory payment amounts when you make the change.
Increasing your plan inclusions
If you change to a higher plan in the same plan family, for example, from a $95 Go Mobile plan to a $135 Go Mobile plan, there are no additional costs.
Decreasing your plan inclusions
If you change to lower value plan than what you started on, for example, you signed a contract for a $70 Go Mobile plan and you want to downgrade to a $55 Go Mobile plan; you may have to pay a plan Early Termination Charge as well as any remaining device or accessory repayments.
Changing plan families
If you change to a different plan family, for example, from a Go Mobile to a Go Mobile Plus plan or from a BYO to a Casual Plan, you may have to pay an Early Termination Charge or an Early Recontracting Fee as well as any remaining device or accessory repayments.
Good to know
The cost of your handset will not change if you move to a higher plan within the same plan family.
What are the latest plans and phones?
To change your plan:
- Chat with us via Telstra 24x7 Chat
- Call 13 22 00 and ask for Mobile Sales
- Use our online store
- Visit your nearest Telstra store
Still need to get in touch
Prefer to talk to someone over the phone? We're here to answer your questions.