What is Auto Recharge?

  • Auto Recharge can be set up on any Telstra mobile service.
  • If you set up Auto Recharge, your Telstra service will automatically recharge with your nominated recharge amount (Auto Recharge Amount) on the date that your current recharge expires.
  • Auto Recharge will occur on the date that your current recharge expires. Up to 200GB of unused data from your current recharge will roll over as long as the new recharge occurs before expiry of your current recharge. 

How do I set up Auto Recharge?

  • Only the Account Owner can set up Auto Recharge. Other people (including people with full authority) cannot set up Auto Recharge.
  • You can set up Auto Recharge in the My Telstra app or My Telstra Web. You must be logged in with your Telstra ID to set up Auto Recharge.
  • Any personal information you provide when setting up Auto Recharge will be treated in accordance with Telstra’s Privacy Statement
  • To be able to set up Auto Recharge, you need to have a current active recharge on your Pre-Paid Mobile service that is not due to expire in the next 24 hours. 
  • You can’t set up Auto Recharge if your Pre-Paid Mobile service has a balance of $0.  In that case, you won’t be able to see the Auto Recharge option.  You’ll need to manually recharge first, and then you can set up Auto Recharge for the next time you need to recharge.
  • You must nominate a credit or debit card (Mastercard or VISA) for Auto Recharge transactions (Auto Recharge Payment Method).
  • By setting up Auto Recharge:
    • you authorise Telstra to charge the Auto Recharge Amount to your Auto Recharge Payment Method when your current recharge expires, until you cancel your Auto Recharge, or it is cancelled by Telstra and
    •  agree to save your Auto Recharge Payment Method for future Auto Recharge transactions.
  • Telstra will send you an Auto Recharge courtesy reminder email before your current recharge expires.  You agree that we may charge the Auto Recharge Amount even if you don’t receive a courtesy reminder email.
  • You must have sufficient funds in your nominated payment method for the Auto Recharge to be successful. 
  • We will notify you if your Auto Recharge fails. Auto Recharge will fail if there’s insufficient funds or if the Auto Recharge Payment Method has expired.  This may mean you won’t be able to make outgoing calls, text or use data until you manually recharge your service.
  • If your Auto Recharge fails, you’ll need to manually recharge for this month. Your Auto Recharge will recommence from the next recharge period.
  • If you need to update your Auto Recharge Payment Method, you will need to cancel your existing Auto Recharge and set up a new one with your new payment method.
  • If you manually recharge while you have Auto Recharge set up, your next scheduled Auto Recharge date will be automatically extended until the expiry date of that manual recharge.
  • You can find Auto Recharge payment receipts and see the scheduled date of your next Auto Recharge in the My Telstra app or My Telstra web. 

How do I change or cancel Auto Recharge?

  • You can change the Auto Recharge Amount by cancelling the current Auto Recharge and then setting it up again by selecting the new recharge amount.
  • You can cancel the Auto Recharge by:
    • Logging into the My Telstra app or My Telstra web. You need to be logged in with your Telstra ID in order to cancel; or
    • Calling us on 13 22 00
  • If you want to cancel before your next Auto Recharge takes effect, you must cancel at least 2 calendar days before your current recharge expires, to give us enough time to process your request.
  • If you cancel your Auto Recharge less than 2 calendar days before your current recharge expires, you will still be charged for your upcoming Auto Recharge.  The cancellation will take effect when that recharge expires.
  • You will need to cancel your Auto Recharge if your handset is lost or stolen, or if you are no longer the account owner.
  • Without limitation, we may cancel your Auto Recharge if:
    • your Auto Recharge fails because there are insufficient funds or your Auto Recharge Payment Method has expired; or
    • we suspect fraud. 

Got more questions about Pre-Paid? We’re here to help.

Contact us

Send us a message

My Telstra app

Support