Media Release, 26 February 2019

South Australian finalists announced in the 2019 Telstra Business Women’s Awards
26 February 2019: A not-for-profit CEO, a university lecturer and a social enterprise leader are among the 18 finalists of the 2019 Telstra South Australian Business Women’s Awards. 
One of the finalists, Maria Palumbo is the CEO of Junction, a growing and innovative non-denominational social enterprise supporting around 8,500 South Australians a year through affordable housing and community services. With a strong focus on community development, she works to empower individuals and families and create safe, connected and resilient neighbourhoods that contribute to thriving communities. 
Driven by her vision to educate the innovators of tomorrow, Hannah Harvey believes proper mentorship and investment in her students is key. As the Regional Coordinator for the Bachelor of Education at the University of South Australia, Hannah’s sole purpose is to instil confidence in her students’ teaching abilities.
As a champion for animal welfare, finalist Amy Van Dyk recognises the value that dogs bring to families and aims to help owners achieve their goals of raising a happy, well-adjusted and well-behaved pet. As the Owner and Director of Advanced Behavioural Training, she provides a range of services to help mitigate dog behavioural issues and rehabilitate those with problems.
Now in their 24th year, the Telstra Business Women’s Awards shine a light on women who have challenged the status quo, done things their own way, and achieved success in business.
The program empowers Australia’s most successful women from small, medium and large businesses, forpurpose organisations and social enterprises, academia and the public sector. 
Telstra Business Women’s Awards Ambassador and Chief Financial Officer, Robyn Denholm, congratulates the South Australian finalists for using their own unique business approach to redefine standards to lead in their respective categories. 
“The 2019 finalists are all extraordinary women following their own path. By undoing traditional approaches to business, they are inspiring others and championing inclusion, innovation, and leadership.
“Business women who are smashing through stereotypes and transforming the status quo deserve to be celebrated and it’s by shining the light on their successes, and their individual stories, that we help them and other women in business thrive,” Ms Denholm said. 
The finalists of the 2019 Telstra South Australian Business Women’s Awards are:
Small Business Award
Amy Van Dyk, Advance Behavioural Training
Julie Wrobel, Algo Mas
Lidia Conci, AvantiCare
Lynda Schenk, Purple Giraffe
Melissa Dunbar, Big Fish Events Group 
Dr Vyla Ellis, Country Living Dentistry

Medium & Large Business Award
Amy O’Connor, ICS Service Solutions
Carolyn Parrella, Terri Sheer Insurance
Daphne Crowhurst, Crowies Paints
Maryanne Campbell-Hand, KFC
Public Sector & Academia Award
Hannah Harvey, University of South Australia
Karin Mahoney, City of Charles Sturt
Professor Katrina Falkner, University of Adelaide
Professor Zoe Jordan, University of Adelaide
For Purpose & Social Enterprise Award
Evelyn O'Loughlin, Volunteering SA & NT Inc
Jani Baker, ACH Group
Maria Palumbo, Junction
Noni Vassos, Rockit Performing Arts
Winners of the 2019 Telstra South Australian Business Women’s Awards will be announced on Tuesday 2 April, at the Adelaide Festival Centre. State and Territory winners will be invited to Sydney for the National Awards judging on Wednesday 15 May, and a national dinner celebration on Thursday 16 May. 
Media contact:
Chris Marks – Telstra Media Manager SA/NT
M: 0475 963 824
Reference number: 016/2019