Media Release, 29 September 2014

Women driving Tasmania’s business reputation and growth within the state and beyond were named today among 18 finalists for the 2014 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.

They include Dixie Emmerton, whose extensive industrial relations and human resources experience led to her creating the Centre for Tasmanian Industry in 2005. The one-stop-shop advisory service has expanded and now helps 1100 Australian businesses with strategies to improve their competitiveness and maximise quality, safety and investment in people.

Hobart duo Lisa Link, whose Spacebar Gallery showcases her fashion designs and those of other local designers; and the creator of Francesca Collections jewellery, Hannah Vasicek, who sells her wares nationally, are also finalists.

The 2014 finalists join a prestigious list of Tasmanian Awards winners including Laura McBain, CEO of Launceston-based baby formula producer and exporters Bellamy’s Organic; former Ashgrove Cheeses Managing Director and current ABC Director Jane Bennett; leading Tasmanian media executive Fiona Reynolds; and travel industry veteran Genevieve Atkins, from The Travel Studio at Battery Point.

Business women honoured from the Community and Government sector this year include Commander Stacey Porter, the Royal Australian Navy’s most senior officer in Tasmania; Donna Adams, the first woman appointed as an Assistant Commissioner of Tasmania Police; Lindy O’Neill, CEO of UnitingCare Tasmania; and Gail Eaton-Briggs, TasTAFE’s General Manager Operations.

Other finalists this year include Catherine Hammersley-Cave, CEO of fast-growing telecommunications construction company Comstar Systems Pty Ltd which is extending its services into Victoria; and Allison Clark, who manages the national marketing of ready-to-eat salads produced by family agribusiness Houston’s Farm near Cambridge.

Kate McKenzie, Telstra Chief Operations Officer and Telstra Business Women’s Awards Ambassador said: “The diversity of our 2014 Tasmanian finalists shines a light on Australian business women whose innovations and leadership are changing the industries and communities around them.

“As the longest standing national business awards program for women in Australia, the Awards have uncovered stories of amazing business women at all stages in their careers.

“The 2014 Tasmanian finalists join a long list of incredible alumni who have inspired us with their individual achievements, and done so much collectively for the promotion of women in the Australian business world,” she said.
As a partner of the Telstra Business Women’s Awards, Vanessa Nolan-Woods, General Manager of Commonwealth Bank’s Women in Focus network, said: “For 20 years, the Telstra Business Women Awards have provided a high profile platform that celebrates the achievements of successful women. The Awards create positive role models for other aspiring women.
“Women in Focus is proud of our partnership with the Telstra Awards, and the role we have played together to create a supportive network of women to inspire future trailblazers,” she said.
Winners of the 2014 Telstra Tasmanian Business Women’s Awards will be announced on Friday 17 October in Hobart. The Tasmanian winners proceed to the national finals in Melbourne on 26 November.

For finalists across Australia the awards offer a chance to share in $650,000 in cash and prizes.

Finalists for the 2014 Telstra Tasmanian Business Women’s Awards are:

Business Owner Award
Dixie Emmerton, Centre for Tasmanian Industry, Bellerive
Lisa Link, Spacebar Gallery, Hobart
Sara Redman, SRA Corporate Change, Launceston

Private and Corporate Sector Award
Tracey Allen, Liminal Studio, Hobart
Allison Clark, Houston's Farm, Cambridge
Lynette Genders, Alison's Garden & Landscape Pty Ltd, Glenorchy
Mandy Welling, Harcourts Elite Bellerive, Bellerive
Tracy Williams, Bendzulla Actuarial, Hobart

Community and Government Award
Donna Adams, Tasmania Police, Hobart
Gail Eaton-Briggs, TasTAFE, Hobart
Lindy O'Neill, Uniting Care, Lindisfarne
Lucy O'Flaherty, Glenview Community Services, Glenorchy
Commander Stacey Porter, Royal Australian Navy Anglesea, Barracks

Business Innovation Award
Donna Adams Tasmania Police, Hobart
Allison Clark Houston's Farm Cambridge
Catherine Hammersley-Cave, Comstar Systems Pty Ltd, Hobart
Lindy O'Neill, Uniting Care, Lindisfarne
Lucy O'Flaherty, Glenview Community Services, Glenorchy
Tracy Williams, Bendzulla Actuarial, Hobart

Young Business Women’s Award
Ashlee Anderson, Hobart Friendly Care Pharmacies, Hobart
Rebecca Owens, Mizzle Hobart
Hannah Vasicek, Francesca Collections, Hobart
Barbara Walters, Whitelion, L aunceston
Jessica Webb, Your Path to Health, Rosny Park

More information on the Telstra Business Women’s Awards can be found at