Telstra progressing rollout of Mobile Blackspot Programme

Media Release, 17 February 2016

Six month rollout schedule announced

Telstra has today announced the first rollout schedule of mobile base stations to be constructed under the Mobile Blackspot Programme.

The first 66 mobile base stations to be constructed by the end of June this year include locations in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia and Tasmania.

Under the Mobile Blackspot Programme Telstra is contributing $165 million to assist in the construction of 429 3G / 4G mobile base stations nationally that will extend coverage into more than 400 communities where is little or no coverage.

Telstra Group Managing Director Networks Mike Wright said the development of a rollout schedule for the next six months was an exciting development for communities.

“We can understand the anticipation many have about when mobile base stations will be constructed,” he said.

“Behind the scenes there has been significant work occurring in design planning, community consultations, the formulation and development of planning applications and working with local councils to get the best outcome for everybody.

“None of this happens overnight, but it is happening and we are working as fast as we can to deliver on our commitments to these towns and communities.”

Under round one of the Mobile Blackspot Programme Telstra is contributing $165 million, $94.8 million is from the Federal Government and tens of millions in targeted additional funding from State and Local Governments.

As the first carrier to bring 4G mobile services to country Australia Telstra is acutely aware of the importance communication is to communities outside of major capital and regional hubs. Telstra’s $165 million investment into the Mobile Blackspot Programme is part of our wider $5 billion investment into our mobile network over the three years to June 2017.

“The growing use of mobile devices such as smart phones and tablets is changing the way we live and we are aware of the challenges facing communities living with limited access to a mobile network,” Mr Wright said.

“Already 18 mobile base stations have been completed with the first six switched on in December 2015.”

Rollout schedules for towns and communities not included in this first six month schedule will be made available as planning progresses for their construction. Timeframes for the rollout of new base stations may vary and depend on local government approval processes, community consultation periods and other local factors. More information relating to the Mobile Blackspot Programme is available at

Mobile Blackspot Programme six month rollout schedule 


Location Estimated completion
Boonah Rathdowney Road, between Boonah and Rathdowney Completed February - 2016
Burnett Highway Completed January – 2016
Coalstoun Lakes June – 2016
Clarke Creek Completed January – 2016
Crows Nest June – 16
Eukey Completed January – 2016
Eulo Completed January – 2016
Forsayth Completed January – 2016
Greenvale June – 2016
Kin Kin June – 2016
Marlborough Completed December – 2015
Mount Mee June – 2016
Mulgildie June – 2016
Speewah June – 2016
Toobeah June – 2016
Woolooga June – 2016
Quilpie Completed December – 2015

New South Wales

Location Estimated completion
Araluen June – 2016
Bodalla April – 2016
Bogee June – 2016
Brassi Completed – December 2015
Blaxlands Ridge May – 2016
Clunes June – 2016
Cobbitty Completed February - 2016
Colo Heights Completed February – 2016
Darbys Falls June – 2016
Drake February – 2016
Hernani June – 2016
Hillgrove June – 2016
Lue June – 2016
Nethercote June – 2016
Palinyewah Completed December – 2015
Sherwood June – 2016
Warroo June – 2016
Wherrol Flat June – 2016
Woolomin June – 2016


Location Estimated completion
Austins Hill/ Mirboo East Completed January – 2016
Benambra Completed January – 2016
Blackwood Completed December – 2015
Blackheath June – 2016
Carapook April – 2016
Carlisle River April – 2016
Gormandale June – 2016
Kadnook June – 2016
Lalbert June - 2016
Patchewollock June – 2016
Pigeon Ponds Completed January – 2016
Powers Creek June - 2016
St Andrews February – 2016
Sandy Point May – 2016
Sheep Hills May – 2016
Tatong May – 2016
Werrimull Completed – December 2015
Wombelano June – 2016


Location Estimated completion
Acacia Hills March -2016

Western Australia

Location Estimated completion
Ajana Completed February- 2016
East Yuna June - 2016
Ferguson Valley June – 2016
Grass Valley June – 2016
Kununoppin June – 2016
Minilya June – 2016
Nabawa June - 2016
Naraling June - 2016
South Yuna June – 2016
West River June – 2016

South Australia

Location Estimated Completion
Curramulka June – 2016