Telstra customers to benefit from more spectrum in 1800 MHz band

Media Release, 05 February 2016

Telstra is investing $190 million to ensure we can continue to deliver the best possible experience for customers on our mobile network, securing 57 blocks of spectrum at an Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) auction.

The blocks of spectrum in the 1800 MHz band cover 12 regions[1] across Australia and will be used to enhance the delivery of 4G mobile services.

Telstra CEO Andy Penn said the additional spectrum was good news for customers and would deliver greater capacity and faster speeds to meet growing demand.

“We continue to invest to make sure our customers, particularly in regional areas, have the best mobile experience on Australia’s biggest mobile network,” Mr Penn said.

“As a result of the auction, we’ll be at least doubling the amount of spectrum in the 1800 MHz band that we can use to provide 4G services in these areas. In fact, in some regions we will more than triple the amount available.

“Securing this extra spectrum allows Telstra to deliver more capacity to cater to our customers’ growing demand for mobile data. It will also enable mobile data to be delivered at even faster speeds.

“Australia’s mobile market is very dynamic, which is why we’ll continue to take every opportunity to improve our customers’ experiences on the Telstra network.”

Telstra customers in areas covered by the auction will be able to enjoy these benefits when the new spectrum licences come into effect in May 2017.

Where possible Telstra will also work with the ACMA to explore earlier access to the spectrum in an effort to bring forward benefits to our customers.

The spectrum licences have a term of 11 years.

Telstra was the first provider to bring 4G mobile services to regional Australia and has rapidly expanded 4G coverage to reach 96% of the population. It will reach 99% of the population by the end of June 2017.

[1] Regions covered by the spectrum licences are: North Queensland, Central Queensland, South Queensland, Northern NSW, Western NSW, Southern NSW, Regional Victoria, Regional SA, Regional WA, Darwin, Canberra, Tasmania.