Update your browser to stay safe online

If you're seeing this message, you may need to update your browser.

Without the most up-to-date version of your browser, you may be more vulnerable to cybersecurity threats, such as viruses and ransomware.

You also may have problems viewing our latest site features, as Telstra's website does not support outdated browsers. Find out more about staying safe online.

Is Google Home recording all of my conversations?

No. Google Home listens in short snippets (a few seconds) for the hotword. Those snippets are deleted if the hotword isn’t detected, and none of that information leaves your device until the hotword is heard. When Google Home detects that you've said "Ok Google," the LED lights on top of the device light up to tell you that it is recording what you say, and sends that recording (including the few-second hotword recording) to Google in order to fulfil your request. You can delete those recordings through My Activity anytime.

Learn more about Google Home privacy

 

Where is Google saving my data?

Google stores data about your conversations on its servers, which reside in its data centres. For more information, you can visit https://www.google.com/about/datacenters/.

You can view and delete your past interactions with the Google Home in My Activity.

 

What data does Google collect?

Google collects data that's meant to make your services faster, smarter, more relevant, and more useful to you. Google Home learns over time to provide better and more personalised suggestions and answers. You can learn more by visiting Google's Privacy Policy.

Learn more about Google Home privacy

 

What does Google Home know about me?

If you have opted to share information with Google, Google uses that information, along with your Google history, to better assist you with customisations like your name and interests. You can delete your history, which will limit the personalised experience for features like the Google Assistant. You can view your history with the Google Assistant in My Activity, which is accessible through the setup app and online at myactivity.google.com. You have control over your data and the power to delete history at any time. 

 

What does Google do with the data it collects?

Google uses data to make its services faster, smarter, and more useful to you, such as by providing better search results and timely traffic updates. Data also helps protect you from malware, phishing, and other suspicious activity. For example, Google warns you when you try to visit dangerous websites. Also, on surfaces where ads are shown, Google uses data to show you ads that are relevant and useful, and to keep its services free for everyone. Google Home learns over time to provide better and more personalised suggestions and answers. 

For more information, visit Google's Privacy Policy

 

If I delete my location / search / conversation history, does Google still save a copy?

When you delete items from My Activity, they are permanently deleted from your Google Account. However, Google may keep service-related information about your account, like which Google products you used and when, to prevent spam and abuse and to improve your services.

Learn more about the information we collect and why

 

 

 

 

 

Still need to get in touch

CrowdSupport®

Have a question? Ask our Customer Forum.

Go to CrowdSupport
24x7 Chat

Chat with us now.

 

Chat Now
Contact us

Prefer to talk to someone over the phone? We're here to answer your questions.

Contact us
Find a store

Find your nearest Telstra store or Wi-Fi hotspot.

Find a store