Can I set up an auto recharge for my Telstra Pre-Paid service?

Yes, you can set up an auto recharge, so you don’t have to worry about running out of calls, texts and data.

Depending on your plan, you can set up an auto recharge to renew based on your:

  1. Expiry date – your auto recharge will renew on the day your current recharge expires
  2.  
  3. Scheduled day of the month – your auto recharge will renew on the day of the month you choose. (If your recharge has 28 or 30 days’ expiry, we’ll extend it for the months with 30 or 31 days.)
  4.  
  5. Balance – your auto recharge will renew when your balance drops below your chosen level, or when your credit expires.

How do I set up an auto recharge?

  1. Sign in to Telstra 24x7 My Account using your Telstra ID
  2. If you have more than one Pre-Paid service, select the Pre-Paid service you want to add an auto recharge to
  3. Select Auto recharge or Recharge settings
  4. Choose from the auto recharge options
  5. Follow the prompts to complete your auto recharge.

 

Other ways to set up an auto recharge:

  • Visit m.telstra.com on your Pre-Paid device
  • Dial #100# from your Pre-Paid mobile

Good to know

To set up a scheduled day of the month or balance-based auto recharge, you’ll need to add a saved payment method and create a 4-digit PIN. Your 4-digit PIN allows you to recharge with the saved payment method. 

To add a saved payment method, recharge using your credit or debit card and select the option to save your card details. You can do this via telstra.com/rechargeTelstra 24x7 app or Telstra 24x7 My Account.

What happens if I have insufficient funds on my credit or debit card when my payment is processed?

Your auto recharge won’t be processed, and you may be charged a fee by your financial institution. Please contact them or try using another payment method. If you have set up an expiry-based auto recharge and don’t recharge within 5 days, we’ll cancel your auto recharge. We’ll also send you a text to let you know.

 

If you try another payment method, you can:

  1. Save it and set up a 4-digit recharge PIN for future auto recharges
  2. Make a one-off recharge using this payment method (future auto recharges will use the original payment method you saved).

What happens if my auto recharge fails for another reason?

Please check that your credit or debit card details are correct, and it has not expired. If you have set up an expiry-based auto recharge and don’t recharge within 5 days, we’ll cancel your auto recharge. We’ll also send you a text to let you know.

 

If you try another payment method, you can:

  1. Save it and set up a 4-digit recharge PIN for future auto recharges
  2. Make a one-off recharge using this payment method (future auto recharges will use the original payment method you saved).

 

If you still need help, please contact us.

What happens if I recharge in between auto recharge cycles?

If you have an expiry-based auto recharge, we’ll extend your auto recharge to renew on the new expiry date of your latest recharge.

If you recharge before your next auto recharge starts, and the date of your unlimited calls and texts doesn’t change, your auto recharge will renew on the original date.

 

To check the date of your next auto recharge, you can:

  1. Sign in to Telstra 24x7 My Account using your Telstra ID
  2. If you have more than one Pre-Paid service, select the Pre-Paid service you want to add an auto recharge to
  3. Select Auto recharge

 

Other ways to check your next auto recharge:

  • Visit m.telstra.com on your Pre-Paid device
  • Dial #100# from your Pre-Paid mobile

 

If you have a scheduled day of the month auto recharge, it will continue to renew on the day of the month you have selected.

If you have a balanced-based auto recharge, it will renew when your balance drops below your chosen level, or when your credit expires.

How do I cancel my auto recharge?

To cancel your auto recharge, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to Telstra 24x7 My Account using your Telstra ID
  2. If you have more than one Pre-Paid service, select the Pre-Paid service you want to add an auto recharge to
  3. Select Auto recharge or Recharge settings
  4. Follow the prompts to cancel your auto recharge.

 

Other ways to cancel an auto recharge:

  • Visit m.telstra.com on your Pre-Paid device
  • Dial #100# from your Pre-Paid mobile

 

I have auto recharge set up, will I still get low credit and expiry SMS notifications?

Yes, you’ll still receive these text message notifications from us.

 

What happens to my auto recharge if I change plan?

If you have an expiry-based auto recharge and change your plan, we’ll cancel your auto recharge. You’ll need to set up an auto recharge for your new plan, and the type of auto recharge available will depend on the plan you’re on.

If you’ve set up a scheduled day of the month or balance-based auto recharge, you’ll need to cancel it yourself. We’ll also send you a text message to let you know.

For more information about auto recharge, please see our Terms and Conditions.

 

 

 

Still need to get in touch

CrowdSupport®

Have a question? Ask our Customer Forum.

Go to CrowdSupport
Contact us

Prefer to talk to someone over the phone? We're here to answer your questions.

Contact us
Find a store

Find your nearest Telstra store or Wi-Fi hotspot.

Find a store
Help for other tech

We can help setup & protect your computers, smart devices, printers & gaming consoles

Visit us