Telstra appointed Australian Customs and Border Protection Service Telecommunications provider

Media Release, 27 August 2013

Telstra today announced it has signed a five-year $56 million agreement with the Australian Customs and Border Protection Service (ACBPS) to provide whole of business managed telecommunications services.

The agreement, known as the Customs Managed Telecommunications Service (CMTS), will see Telstra appointed the ACBPS’s major provider of telecommunications.

Gordon Ballantyne, Telstra’s Chief Customer Officer said Telstra was pleased to extend its relationship with the ACBPS as their major vendor for end-to-end telecommunications infrastructure requirements.

“The Australian Customs and Border Protection Service has been a long term customer of Telstra,” Mr Ballantyne said.

“Following the recent agreement to provide the ACBPS with Secure Internet Gateway services, we are once again pleased to be able to support ACBPS by providing the telecommunications technology for the important public service it provides.

“This agreement is designed to leverage our national infrastructure, strategic capability and understanding of the ACBPS operating environment to develop and implement a range of highly scalable and future solutions that will support their critical operations.”

The CMTS will provide network, Unified Communications and Video Conferencing solutions to around 5,700 ACBPS staff nationally, delivered over a secure network to the wide range of ACBPS sites around Australia. The agreement also includes services for contact centre and a range of other technologies, including mobile voice and data, satellite and point to point services.

“By providing a single point of accountability for the telecommunications environment Telstra will be able to seamlessly manage the end-to-end security and integrity. We will also provide a superior level of service across the telecommunications environment to help support ACBPS operations and services in every corner of the nation”, Mr Ballantyne said.

The agreement includes four separate contracts required under the Commonwealth’s current procurement framework, and also includes the Department of Finance and Deregulation as a signatory.