Small cells deliver Telstra's fast mobile network to even more regional Australians

Media Release, 20 June 2016

Telstra customers in more than 130 rural and regional communities will benefit from fast 4G mobile coverage on Australia’s largest mobile network as part of Telstra’s $165 million commitment to regional Australia and the Federal Government’s Mobile Black Spot Programme.

The Federal Government today announced 135 4G small cell base stations will be rolled out to communities across the nation, providing the latest in fast mobile data capabilities to even more rural and regional areas.

Telstra Group Managing Director, Networks, Mike Wright said rolling out the small cell technology was part of Telstra’s commitment to expand its 4G coverage to 99% of the Australian population by June 2017.

“As the carrier with the nation’s largest mobile footprint and the first to bring 4G mobile services to regional Australia, we know how important high-speed mobile can be to supporting local communities and businesses and we are excited to add another first to the list by delivering this innovative small cell technology to our nation’s regions,” Mr Wright said.

“The growing use of mobile devices such as smart phones and tablets is changing the way we live. The introduction of fast 4G data services via a small cell in these locations will mean residents will be able to access social media and video on the go for the first time as well as increased opportunities for local businesses.

“It also opens a digital door to emerging technologies such as Voice over LTE (VoLTE), which will, in due course, allow customers to make voice calls using 4G.

Mr Wright said the 135 small cells sites, which are funded solely by Telstra, were in addition to 429 communities who will benefit from expanded Telstra 3G and 4G coverage under Round One of the Federal Government’s Mobile Black Spot Programme.

“When we made our bid under Round One, our core objective was to maximise new coverage to regional communities, which is why we made this additional pledge to further expand mobile data services at our own expense,” he said.

“We worked closely with the Federal Government to identify the communities who were eligible for this small cell technology and we are proud to be part of this important initiative which will connect so many more regional communities. We will also continue to work with the Government to identify further opportunities to deploy this innovative technology to more rural areas.

“Of the 429 3G/4G mobile base stations, we have already delivered new and improved mobile coverage to a number of communities across the nation in only a few months under Round One of the Programme and we look forward to rolling out coverage to even more Australians in the near future.”

About small cells

A small cell is a miniature version of a standard base station that is traditionally used to boost coverage and capacity in densely populated urban areas. Telstra has reworked the technology and will use small cells to deliver 4G data services to a selected area in small towns and communities.

At this stage, the small cell technology can provide data services only; however, we are working on implementing Voice over LTE technology which will in due course allow customers to make voice calls using 4G.

Location to receive a small cell State
Ballimore NSW
Bellbrook NSW
Bexhill NSW
Bookham NSW
Booral NSW
Bostobrick NSW
Brungle NSW
Bukkulla NSW
Bulga NSW
Bunnan NSW
Bunyah NSW
Burrinjuck NSW
Bylong NSW
Chillingham NSW
Deepwater NSW
Euabalong NSW
Euchareena NSW
Gunderman NSW
Gwabegar NSW
Humula NSW
Jiggi NSW
Karuah NSW
Kulnura NSW
Liston NSW
Lower Portland NSW
Main Arm NSW
Modanville NSW
Mogriguy NSW
Mt Taylor NSW
Old Grevillia NSW
Rappville NSW
Rugby NSW
Rye Park NSW
Tabulam NSW
Tallimba NSW
Tyringham NSW
Wantabadge NSW
Watsons Creek NSW
Wollar NSW
Wollomombi NSW
Wyndham NSW
Aileron Station NT
Aurora Kakadu Hotel/Roadhouse NT
Hay Creek Road-Stuart Highway NT
Jilkminggan Community-Roper Highway NT
Lake Bennett NT
Mcarthur-Carpenteria Highway NT
Renner Springs-Stuart Highway NT
Tipperary Station Road NT
Alva Beach QLD
Avondale QLD
Binna Burra Resort QLD
Boreen Point QLD
Bramston Beach QLD
Cawarral QLD
Cherbourg QLD
Hampton QLD
Hillview QLD
Injinoo QLD
Injune QLD
Innot Hot Springs QLD
Lake Tinaroo QLD
Mena Creek QLD
Moranbah Airport QLD
Morven QLD
Mourilyan Harbour QLD
Mungallala QLD
Murray Upper QLD
Palmer River Roadhouse QLD
Peranga QLD
Reesville QLD
River Ranch QLD
Seisia QLD
Severnlea QLD
Tarzali QLD
Tingoora QLD
Umagico QLD
Woorabinda QLD
Wowan QLD
Balgowan SA
Bute SA
Caltowie SA
Cape Jaffa Anchorage SA
Coobowie SA
Farrell Flat SA
Geranium SA
Gumeracha SA
Kalangadoo SA
Kangarilla SA
Lipson SA
Mintaro SA
Monash SA
Myponga SA
Norton Summit SA
Pinery SA
Port MacDonnell SA
Port Neill SA
Sevenhill SA
Spalding SA
Stockport SA
Terowie SA
Truro SA
Wirrulla SA
Yeelanna SA
Yundi SA
Adventure Bay TAS
Avoca Exchange TAS
Beechford TAS
Colebrook TAS
Lilydale TAS
Nile Exchange TAS
Sprent TAS
Swanwick TAS
Weymouth TAS
Yolla TAS
Borung VIC
Cavendish VIC
Cheshunt VIC
Dargo VIC
Darraweit Guim VIC
Dartmouth Dam VIC
Gellibrand VIC
Hill End VIC
Maroona VIC
Navarre VIC
Smeaton VIC
Tarrawingee VIC
Tooborac VIC
Traralgon South VIC
Calingiri WA
Coolup WA
Gingin West WA
Kirup WA
Tammin WA