Media Release, 26 September 2014

Edith owerhouse mining and resources sector is represented by almost a third of the 27 women named today as finalists in the 2014 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.

They include Jillian Hoffman, mastermind of Woodside Energy’s strategy to govern the global shipping of liquefied natural gas and Nicole Ashby, founder of FIFO Families, a support group for fly in fly out workers.

The list also includes Sharon Warburton, a non-executive Director of Fortescue Metals Group and Executive Director, Strategy & Finance, at global construction contractor Brookfield Multiplex; and Trish O’Reilly, CEO of Australia-Africa Mining Industry Group.

The 27 finalists join a prestigious list of WA Award winners from Gina Rinehart, chairman of Hancock Prospecting Group, and Julie Shuttleworth, Fortescue Metal Group’s General Manager of Pilbara mine Cloudbreak, to former Rio Tinto executive Denise Goldsworthy, who now owns mining consultancy Alternate Futures.

WA women recognised from the community and government sectors are Rabia Siddique, the WA Police Commissioner's Legal Counsel who spent time as a UK terrorism and war crimes prosecutor; Glenda Kickett, Aboriginal Cultural Advisor at Centrecare and local chair of NAIDOC; and Jane King, Executive Director at the State Library of Western Australia Foundation.

Other finalists leading community change include Edith Cowan University’s Professor Cobie Rudd, who introduced simulation-based learning for health professionals that was adopted by nearly 40 Australian universities; and Jane Mauritz, director of cattle and cropping farm Hydillowah, who works to raise community awareness about suicide prevention in WA’s wheat belt.

Kate McKenzie, Telstra Chief Operations Officer and Telstra Business Women’s Awards Ambassador said, “The diversity of our 2014 West Australian finalists shines a light on Australian business women whose innovations and leadership are changing the industries and communities around them.

“As the longest standing national business awards program for women in Australia, the Awards have uncovered stories of amazing business women at all stages in their careers.

“The 2014 West Australian finalists join a long list of incredible alumni who have inspired us with their individual achievements, and done so much collectively for the promotion of women in the Australian business world,” she said.

As a partner of the Telstra Business Women’s Awards, Vanessa Nolan-Woods, General Manager of Commonwealth Bank’s Women in Focus network, said: “For 20 years, the Telstra Business Women Awards have provided a high profile platform that celebrates the achievements of successful women. The Awards create positive role models for other aspiring women.

“Women in Focus is proud of our partnership with the Telstra Awards, and the role we have played together to create a supportive network of women to inspire future trailblazers,” she said.

Winners of the 2014 Telstra West Australian Business Women’s Awards will be announced on Tuesday 10 October in Perth. The West Australian winners proceed to the national finals in Melbourne on 26 November.

For finalists across Australia the awards offer a chance to share in $650,000 in cash and prizes.

Finalists for the 2014 Telstra West Australian Business Women’s Awards are:

Business Owner Award
Nicole Ashby, FIFO Families, Melville
Lyn Bentley, Sticky Fingers Gourmet Foods, O'Connor
Grace Mazur, Thermomix in Australia, Balcatta
Jane Mouritz, Hydillowah Pty Ltd, Hyden
Deborah Pearcey, Renovation Concepts, Como
Gemma Tognini, gtmedia strategic communications, Northbridge

Private and Corporate Sector Award
Victoria Butler, Jackson McDonald, Perth
Nina Hobson, Meridian Services, Burswood
Jillian Hoffmann, Woodside Energy Ltd., Perth
Rachel Mottram, Alcoa of Australia, Pinjarra Refinery, Pinjarra
Trish O'Reilly, Australia-Africa Mining Industry Group (AAMIG), West Perth
Sharon Warburton, Brookfield Multiplex, Perth

Community and Government Award
Justine Colyer, Rise Network Inc Middle, Swan
Judy Hogben, The Centre for Cerebral Palsy, Coolbinia
Glenda Kickett, Centrecare, Perth
Jane King State, Library of Western Australia Foundation, Perth
Professor Cobie Rudd, Edith Cowan University, Joondalup
Rabia Siddique, West Australian Police, East Perth

Business Innovation Award
Nicole Ashby FIFO Families Melville
Dr. Regina Flugge RAC WA West Perth
Jillian Hoffmann Woodside Energy Ltd. Perth
Judy Hogben The Centre for Cerebral Palsy Coolbinia
Dr. Nicola Howe Southcare Manning
Professor Cobie Rudd, Edith Cowan University, Joondalup

Young Business Women’s Award

Fiona Gebauer, Perth International Arts Festival, Crawley
Alecia Hancock, Hancock Creative, Perth
Rosalind Hobson, Cristal Pigment Australia Ltd., Australind
Laura McMahon, Higgins Questamon, Fremantle
Bree Mitchelson, The Strategist Group, Perth
Amy Moonen Woodside, Energy Limited, Perth
Gemma Upson, Ear Science Institute Australia Inc, Subiaco

More information on the Telstra Business Women’s Awards can be found at